Laid off Day ONE

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Laid off
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Today is the first time in 15 years that I don’t have a job. I have been laid off due to a lack of work. First off let me say this is going to suck! Second I hope I don’t get into my head. Third I am going to have to find some stuff to do to keep me busy.

So the beginning of my story starts now!

I was working for the same company for going on 13 years, they ran out of work so they had to lay people off. Nothing they could about, our customers are out of work so there is no one we can get work from. Really it is just a sign of the time. They say the recession is over, I would have to disagree especially in the Mid-West.

I have already filed for my unemployment which they say can take up to 21 days to start receiving it. What could happen in 21 days? hmm. I can miss my house payment, car insurance, all the credit card bills,  and all the other bills. I can not buy groceries. If something bad could happen it probably will.

While unemployed I have the luxury of looking for a new job that is not going to pay nearly what I made at my old job so there for making things really hard on me and my wife.

I will get to catch up on things around the house, wrap some Christmas gifts and get the house ready for Christmas dinner, maybe work on the book I have been writing, play some video games, and watch a lot of Netflix. I would say hang out with friends but they all still have jobs. I figure that everyday that I don’t work I will write on my blog and keep the world informed I can write about what I do during the day, what our pets do while I am home.

Is this a bad thing to get laid off or a blessing in disguise. That will only be shown with time. I hold no hard feelings towards the company I worked for, I know that if they had the work I would still be there. The problem is that if you don’t build I don’t work.

So stay tuned for more on my “EXCITING” time of being laid off.

Leave a Reply

