Holiday World Newbies

Posted: September 4, 2010 in Story, Theme Parks
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today we took my niece and nephew to Holiday World. It was a great day for it, the weather was great and the kids seem to have a blast.

When we got there we headed straight for Splashin Safari for those that don’t know it is Holiday World’s water park and it is great. The water was chilly but the crowds were minimal. We went to the Wildebeest first, it is their new ride this season. It is the world’s longest water coaster. I wasn’t sure the kids would like it or be scared of it because they have never been to an amusement park before.

So we get there and have to wait maybe 3 minutes.We get on it and the conveyor belt takes us to the top. I tell the kids to hold on tight, I would hate for one of them to fall out. The raft crest the hill and the ride attendant says have fun and here we go. The raft is going through the turns and hills and all I can hear is my nephew making these noises. They weren’t scared noises they were happy noises.

When the ride ends he is telling us how great it was and every little detail about it. So we head off and ride all the water slides that Splashin Safari has to offer. My niece had a scared look on her face a couple of times but when I would look at her she would smile.

When we get done in the water park we head out to Holiday World. The first thing my nephew see is the Hallow Swings and he has to ride them. So we do he like them a lot.

Then we are walking around to ride the Turkey-whirl (tilt-a-whirl) when my nephew sees the Voyage and its 154 foot drop. First thing you should know my nephew is 6 years old and barely tall enough to ride half the rides at Holiday World. He sees it and says I WANNA RIDE THAT. So we go up and measure him and he is tall enough.

We walk through the queue line and we get to sit in the 2nd car. Me and Dyllan in the Front, Angela and Autumn in the rear. The train goes up the lift hill and I look over at Dyllan. He has a big smile on his face and it didn’t leave for the length of the ride. Autumn she had the scared look on her face until she noticed I was looking.

The last ride we enjoyed was the Carousel. Dyllan and I were the only ones to ride it. I haven’t rode one of these in probably 20 years, they haven’t changed much but it was fun to ride it with Dyllan to make that memory that will last a lifetime for both of us.

It was a great day, with many, many, many memories created thanks to Holiday World.

Leave a Reply

