Too Honest

Posted: August 27, 2010 in Story
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

When I was going to college I had a 1991 blue Mazda RX-7, similar to the one on the left. Now I loved this car and if it wouldn’t have broken down I would still be driving it. One day I was driving home from college and was 4 blocks away from home, when I got pulled over by a cop.

He comes up to the car and says, “License and registration.”

I say, “ok” I get it all ready and hand it to him.

He walks back to his car and looks me up. I have nothing on my record and he returns. “Do you know why I pulled you over?”

I reply, “speeding”

“No”

“Running that red light”

“No”

“Passing that person in the left turn only lane”

“No”

“Music was too loud”

“No”

“I’m sorry officer but I have no clue why you pulled me over”

He says, “Well I pulled you over because you don’t have any headlights on.”

“Really”

“Yeah, but since you were so honest with me, I am going to let you go with a verbal warning.”

I said, “Thanks officer” as I reach down and turn on my headlights.

He hands me pack my paperwork and says, “Have a good night.”

“You too”

He walks back to his car and pull away from the curb.

Leave a Reply

