Run in with the Cops

Posted: August 25, 2010 in Story
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

When I was 14 years old my aunt’s ex husband and I would go for rides and he would let me holler at people out of the car. I used to love to holler at kids who were riding bikes, I would yell “Hey kid I am going to steal your bike.” I never had any intentions of doing this I was just a punk kid who hadn’t grew up yet.

This one time we were going down the street and I saw this kid riding his bike. So I screamed, “I am going to steal your bike” but then my uncle at the time went one step to far and started chasing the kid. The kid went through and alley and my uncle followed him. The kid pulled over and my uncle drove past him. We thought it was funny, it wasn’t.

We got back to my house and went in for awhile then my mom asked if we could go to the grocery and grab something. She gave me the money and we went out. We got into the car and this cop stops and let’s us out in front of him. So we pull out and proceed toward the grocery.

Then the lights come on and we get pulled over, it seems the kid wasn’t dumb he got the license plate number and called the cops. The cop comes up to the car and ask for IDs. My uncle gives him his license and I give my high school ID, that is all I had. The cop looks at them and ask if we yelled at some kid.

My uncle says that he doesn’t know what the cop is talking about. The cop looks at me and I fess up I tell him the whole story. The way I was raised is not to lie. The cop tells me that we could get taken downtown for attemped theft and I am scared. I don’t want to go to jail. He let’s us go after talking to my uncle and asking him why he lied.

When we get home my mom is on me, asking what we did and asking if I am ever going to do it again. I never did it again. I am not mad at the kid and never have been, he did the right thing and that is something he should be proud of. I knew what the right thing to do was and I didn’t do it until the cops stop us.

I realize the more I type these stories that I sound like a bad kid, I wasn’t bad I was really dumb. I have learned from all of these stories, I made mistakes I have learned from them. If I could I would apologize to that kid today, if I only knew who he was.

Leave a Reply

